

DoD Announces Winners of the Secretary of Defense Environmental Awards

The Department of Defense has announced the winners of the 2010 Secretary of Defense Environmental Awards. A panel of judges representing federal and state agencies, academia, and the public has selected the following installations, teams, and individuals as the winners of this year's awards:

Fort Custer Training Center, Michigan Army National Guard Natural Resources Conservation – Small Installation

Camp Guernsey, Wyoming Army National Guard Cultural Resources Management – Installation

Marine Corps Base Hawaii Environmental Quality – Non-industrial Installation

Fleet Readiness Center Southwest, California Sustainability – Industrial Installation

> Hill Air Force Base, Utah Environmental Restoration – Installation

Mr. Stephen M. Seiber, Eglin Air Force Base, Florida Natural Resources Conservation – Individual/Team

Mr. Awni M. Almasri, Naval Facilities Engineering Command Europe Africa Southwest Asia Environmental Quality – Individual/Team

Ms. Regina Dixon Butler, Patrick Air Force Base, Florida Environmental Restoration – Individual/Team

Aeronautical Systems Center Environmental and Occupational Health Team,
Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, Ohio
Environmental Excellence in Weapons Systems Acquisition – Team

Each year since 1962, the Secretary of Defense has honored individuals, teams, and installations for their outstanding achievements to conserve and sustain the natural and cultural resources entrusted to the Department of Defense. The Under Secretary of Defense for Acquisition, Technology & Logistics will officiate at the ceremony honoring the winners on June 2nd, 2010 at 11:00 a.m. in the Pentagon Center Courtyard. For more information on the Secretary of Defense Environmental Awards and highlights of this year's winners and honorable mentions, please visit:

https://www.denix.osd.mil/portal/page/portal/Awards